Parish Church of Our Lady of the Rosary

  • crkva_1

    crkva_1

  • crkva_2

    crkva_2

  • crkva_3

    crkva_3

  • crkva_4

    crkva_4

  • crkva_5

    crkva_5

  • crkva_6

    crkva_6


Parish church of Our Lady of the Rosary was built between 1871 and 1886 in a Neo-Romantic style, according to the ing. Emilis's sketches. This is a three naval building with semicircular apses. The facade is divided by stone pilasters which end in blind arcades. The main facade is accentuated by a portal and a rosette. The nave is illuminated by side windows and doors. The Parish church of Our Lady of the Rosary was sanctified in 1886. It was completely demolished during the Croatian Independence War (1991-1995). Apart from the visible damage on the facade, blind arches and a rosette above presbytery, in the interior the most damage was done to valuable organs, and Our Lady's statue and painting were found missing. The church organ was created 1897 by the renowned Slovenian workshop Zupan Brothers. Between sixteen organs in Croatia originating from this workshop, the largest one is precisely the organ in Drniš with its sixteen registers. After a long period of restoration, since 2009 one can again enjoy its unique sound during Mass and concerts.